Artificial Intelligence: A Force for Good

  Artificial intelligence (AI) is a rapidly developing technology with the potential to revolutionize many aspects of our lives. While there are some concerns about the potential negative impacts of AI, there are also many ways that it can be used for good. Here are some examples of how AI is being used for good: Healthcare: AI is being used to develop new drugs and treatments, improve diagnosis and treatment of diseases, and provide personalized healthcare. For example, AI-powered systems are being used to analyze medical images and data to detect cancer and other diseases earlier and more accurately than ever before. Education: AI is being used to personalize learning, provide real-time feedback, and help students learn at their own pace. For example, AI-powered tutors can provide personalized feedback to students on their homework and help them identify areas where they need additional help. Environment: AI is being used to monitor and protect the environment. For exampl

A quick look at NIST CSF (Cybersecurity Framework) core and how they are organizes into functions.

Hello, and Welcome to my blog!

This week, I will be discussing how the NIST CSF (Cybersecurity Framework) core organizes into functions.

What is a NIST Cybersecurity Framework?

                The National Institute of Standards (NIST) and Framework’s Cybersecurity (CSF) was published in February 2014 in response to Presidential Executive Order 13636, “Improving Critical Infrastructure Cybersecurity,” which called for a standardized security framework for critical infrastructure in the United States.

What are the NIST CRF Framework cores areas?

The NIST CSF is comprised of four core areas. These include Functions, Categories, Subcategories, and References. We will be talking about the different functions in the NIST CSF core and how they are organized for today.

What are the Framework Functions?

The NIST CSF is organized into five core functions, which are also known as the Framework Core. These functions are arranged with one another to represent a security cycle. Each process is essential to a well-operating security posture and successful management of cybersecurity risk.

Below are the five core areas that make up Functions:

  • Identify: Develop the organizational understanding to manage cybersecurity risk to systems, assets, data, and capabilities.
  • Protect: Develop and implement the appropriate safeguards to ensure delivery of critical infrastructure services.
  • Detect: Develop and implement the appropriate activities to identify the occurrence of a security event.
  • Respond: Develop and implement the appropriate activities when facing a detected security event.
  • Recover: Develop and implement the appropriate activities for resilience and to restore any capabilities or services that were impaired due to a security event.

 As you can see, there is a lot that goes into the NIST CSF's Functions that without this, the lifecycle of the CSF would not be able to move forward.

Is there anything you would like to add to this blog? Did I miss something or did not make it clear? If so, please leave a comment below. I would love to hear from you!

Also, check out the links below for more information about the NIST CSF, and as always, stay safe out there!

 National Institute of Standards and Technology A Quick NIST Cybersecurity Framework Summary



Cipher. (2020, May 28). A quick NIST cybersecurity framework summary

NIST. (2020, June 15). An introduction to the components of the framework

Updated 8/26/2020


Popular posts from this blog

What Makes a Security Plan?

Public vs. Private Clouds: A quick look at the Pros and Cons

The Differences between Hubs, Bridges, and Switches, and which one I would recommend using in your home or office